Best Student Presentation Award

Application deadline is June 21, 2019.

This award recognizes and encourages excellence in graduate studies in the field of magnetism. There will be a $1,000 USD one-year fellowship for the winner and $250 USD one-year fellowship for the remaining finalists. Conference attendees are encouraged to attend the talks and support these young scientists.


  • The nominee must be a full time graduate student expecting to graduate within one year of the Conference. Postdoctoral fellows, undergraduates or non-students are not eligible.
  • The student's area of research may either be theoretical or experimental in any of the general technical and scientific areas normally presented as part of the Conference.
  • The student's regularly submitted abstract must have been accepted as an oral presentation through the standard abstract review process by the Conference Program Committee as an oral presentation, and the student must present the work at the Conference.

Application Procedure

  • Students must submit an abstract to the Conference according to the standard submission guidelines and deadlines as outlined under Abstract Submissions. DO NOT identify the abstract as part of the student award competition in the text of the abstract. The Conference abstract deadline is June 21, 2019.
  • Students must also submit an extended 2-page abstract of their presentation, including the already submitted abstract number, plus a short (300 words or less) explanation of their contribution to the work described and its significance by the extended submission deadline of June 21, 2019.
  • Applications MUST be submitted via email as .pdf attachments. The email containing the student award application must have a subject line that reads "STUDENT AWARD".
  • Submit applications via email to the 2019 MMM Conference Awards Chair at

Congratulations to the winner and finalists at the 2019 Joint MMM-Intermag Conference! 

Zhuyun Xiao, University of California, Los Angeles
CE-03. Single Domain Magnetoelastic Terfenol-D Microdisks for Particle and Cell Manipulation

Kresna B. Fathoni, National Institute for Materials Science and University of Tsukuba
AG-11. Large MR Ratio by Using Metastable bcc-Cu Spacer Layer in Epitaxial Current In-Plane Giant Magnetoresistance Devices

William Legrand, Unité Mixte de Physique CNRS/Thales, Univ. Paris-Sud
BC-01. Controlling the Profile, Stability and Dynamics of Chiral Hybrid Skyrmions

Rahul Mishra, National University of Singapore
CB-09. Electric-field Control of Spin Accumulation Direction in a Spin-orbit Torque Device

Niklas Roschewsky, UC Berkeley
AB-07. Spin-Orbit Torque and Nernst Effects in BixSb1-x/Ferromagnet Heterostructures